stop_machine: make stop_machine safe and efficient to call early
Jeremy Fitzhardinge [Tue, 1 Nov 2011 00:11:15 +0000 (17:11 -0700)]
Make stop_machine() safe to call early in boot, before SMP has been set
up, by simply calling the callback function directly if there's only one
CPU online.

[ Fixes from AKPM:
   - add comment
   - local_irq_flags, not save_flags
   - also call hard_irq_disable() for systems which need it

  Tejun suggested using an explicit flag rather than just looking at
  the online cpu count. ]

Cc: Tejun Heo <tj@kernel.org>
Acked-by: Rusty Russell <rusty@rustcorp.com.au>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <a.p.zijlstra@chello.nl>
Cc: H. Peter Anvin <hpa@linux.intel.com>
Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@elte.hu>
Cc: Steven Rostedt <rostedt@goodmis.org>
Acked-by: Tejun Heo <htejun@gmail.com>
Cc: Konrad Rzeszutek Wilk <konrad.wilk@oracle.com>
Signed-off-by: Jeremy Fitzhardinge <jeremy.fitzhardinge@citrix.com>
Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>

kernel/stop_machine.c

index ba5070c..5b0951a 100644 (file)
@@ -41,6 +41,7 @@ struct cpu_stopper {
 };
 
 static DEFINE_PER_CPU(struct cpu_stopper, cpu_stopper);
+static bool stop_machine_initialized = false;
 
 static void cpu_stop_init_done(struct cpu_stop_done *done, unsigned int nr_todo)
 {
@@ -386,6 +387,8 @@ static int __init cpu_stop_init(void)
        cpu_stop_cpu_callback(&cpu_stop_cpu_notifier, CPU_ONLINE, bcpu);
        register_cpu_notifier(&cpu_stop_cpu_notifier);
 
+       stop_machine_initialized = true;
+
        return 0;
 }
 early_initcall(cpu_stop_init);
@@ -485,6 +488,25 @@ int __stop_machine(int (*fn)(void *), void *data, const struct cpumask *cpus)
                                            .num_threads = num_online_cpus(),
                                            .active_cpus = cpus };
 
+       if (!stop_machine_initialized) {
+               /*
+                * Handle the case where stop_machine() is called
+                * early in boot before stop_machine() has been
+                * initialized.
+                */
+               unsigned long flags;
+               int ret;
+
+               WARN_ON_ONCE(smdata.num_threads != 1);
+
+               local_irq_save(flags);
+               hard_irq_disable();
+               ret = (*fn)(data);
+               local_irq_restore(flags);
+
+               return ret;
+       }
+
        /* Set the initial state and stop all online cpus. */
        set_state(&smdata, STOPMACHINE_PREPARE);
        return stop_cpus(cpu_online_mask, stop_machine_cpu_stop, &smdata);