oom: always return a badness score of non-zero for eligible tasks
David Rientjes [Wed, 22 Sep 2010 20:04:52 +0000 (13:04 -0700)]
A task's badness score is roughly a proportion of its rss and swap
compared to the system's capacity.  The scale ranges from 0 to 1000 with
the highest score chosen for kill.  Thus, this scale operates on a
resolution of 0.1% of RAM + swap.  Admin tasks are also given a 3% bonus,
so the badness score of an admin task using 3% of memory, for example,
would still be 0.

It's possible that an exceptionally large number of tasks will combine to
exhaust all resources but never have a single task that uses more than
0.1% of RAM and swap (or 3.0% for admin tasks).

This patch ensures that the badness score of any eligible task is never 0
so the machine doesn't unnecessarily panic because it cannot find a task
to kill.

Signed-off-by: David Rientjes <rientjes@google.com>
Cc: Dave Hansen <dave@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
Cc: Nitin Gupta <ngupta@vflare.org>
Cc: Pekka Enberg <penberg@cs.helsinki.fi>
Cc: Minchan Kim <minchan.kim@gmail.com>
Cc: KAMEZAWA Hiroyuki <kamezawa.hiroyu@jp.fujitsu.com>
Cc: KOSAKI Motohiro <kosaki.motohiro@jp.fujitsu.com>
Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>

mm/oom_kill.c

index fc81cb2..859250c 100644 (file)
@@ -208,8 +208,13 @@ unsigned int oom_badness(struct task_struct *p, struct mem_cgroup *mem,
         */
        points += p->signal->oom_score_adj;
 
-       if (points < 0)
-               return 0;
+       /*
+        * Never return 0 for an eligible task that may be killed since it's
+        * possible that no single user task uses more than 0.1% of memory and
+        * no single admin tasks uses more than 3.0%.
+        */
+       if (points <= 0)
+               return 1;
        return (points < 1000) ? points : 1000;
 }