pids: fix fork_idle() to setup ->pids correctly
Oleg Nesterov [Wed, 26 May 2010 21:44:11 +0000 (14:44 -0700)]
copy_process(pid => &init_struct_pid) doesn't do attach_pid/etc.

It shouldn't, but this means that the idle threads run with the wrong
pids copied from the caller's task_struct. In x86 case the caller is
either kernel_init() thread or keventd.

In particular, this means that after the series of cpu_up/cpu_down an
idle thread (which never exits) can run with .pid pointing to nowhere.

Change fork_idle() to initialize idle->pids[] correctly. We only set
.pid = &init_struct_pid but do not add .node to list, INIT_TASK() does
the same for the boot-cpu idle thread (swapper).

Signed-off-by: Oleg Nesterov <oleg@redhat.com>
Cc: Cedric Le Goater <clg@fr.ibm.com>
Cc: Dave Hansen <haveblue@us.ibm.com>
Cc: Eric Biederman <ebiederm@xmission.com>
Cc: Herbert Poetzl <herbert@13thfloor.at>
Cc: Mathias Krause <Mathias.Krause@secunet.com>
Acked-by: Roland McGrath <roland@redhat.com>
Acked-by: Serge Hallyn <serue@us.ibm.com>
Cc: Sukadev Bhattiprolu <sukadev@us.ibm.com>
Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>

kernel/fork.c

index d32410b..bf9fef6 100644 (file)
@@ -1338,6 +1338,16 @@ noinline struct pt_regs * __cpuinit __attribute__((weak)) idle_regs(struct pt_re
        return regs;
 }
 
+static inline void init_idle_pids(struct pid_link *links)
+{
+       enum pid_type type;
+
+       for (type = PIDTYPE_PID; type < PIDTYPE_MAX; ++type) {
+               INIT_HLIST_NODE(&links[type].node); /* not really needed */
+               links[type].pid = &init_struct_pid;
+       }
+}
+
 struct task_struct * __cpuinit fork_idle(int cpu)
 {
        struct task_struct *task;
@@ -1345,8 +1355,10 @@ struct task_struct * __cpuinit fork_idle(int cpu)
 
        task = copy_process(CLONE_VM, 0, idle_regs(&regs), 0, NULL,
                            &init_struct_pid, 0);
-       if (!IS_ERR(task))
+       if (!IS_ERR(task)) {
+               init_idle_pids(task->pids);
                init_idle(task, cpu);
+       }
 
        return task;
 }