swapfile: let others seed random
Hugh Dickins [Tue, 6 Jan 2009 22:39:57 +0000 (14:39 -0800)]
Remove the srandom32((u32)get_seconds()) from non-rotational swapon:
there's been a coincidental discussion of earlier randomization, assume
that goes ahead, let swapon be a client rather than stirring for itself.

Signed-off-by: Hugh Dickins <hugh@veritas.com>
Cc: David Woodhouse <dwmw2@infradead.org>
Cc: Donjun Shin <djshin90@gmail.com>
Cc: James Bottomley <James.Bottomley@HansenPartnership.com>
Cc: Jens Axboe <jens.axboe@oracle.com>
Cc: Joern Engel <joern@logfs.org>
Cc: KAMEZAWA Hiroyuki <kamezawa.hiroyu@jp.fujitsu.com>
Cc: Matthew Wilcox <matthew@wil.cx>
Cc: Nick Piggin <nickpiggin@yahoo.com.au>
Cc: Tejun Heo <teheo@suse.de>
Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>

mm/swapfile.c

index 6a07855..d005236 100644 (file)
@@ -1851,7 +1851,6 @@ asmlinkage long sys_swapon(const char __user * specialfile, int swap_flags)
 
        if (blk_queue_nonrot(bdev_get_queue(p->bdev))) {
                p->flags |= SWP_SOLIDSTATE;
-               srandom32((u32)get_seconds());
                p->cluster_next = 1 + (random32() % p->highest_bit);
        }
        if (discard_swap(p) == 0)