net: deinit automatic LIST_HEAD
Eric Dumazet [Thu, 17 Feb 2011 22:59:19 +0000 (22:59 +0000)]
commit 9b5e383c11b08784 (net: Introduce
unregister_netdevice_many()) left an active LIST_HEAD() in
rollback_registered(), with possible memory corruption.

Even if device is freed without touching its unreg_list (and therefore
touching the previous memory location holding LISTE_HEAD(single), better
close the bug for good, since its really subtle.

(Same fix for default_device_exit_batch() for completeness)

Reported-by: Michal Hocko <mhocko@suse.cz>
Tested-by: Michal Hocko <mhocko@suse.cz>
Reported-by: Eric W. Biderman <ebiderman@xmission.com>
Tested-by: Eric W. Biderman <ebiderman@xmission.com>
Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: Eric Dumazet <eric.dumazet@gmail.com>
CC: Ingo Molnar <mingo@elte.hu>
CC: Octavian Purdila <opurdila@ixiacom.com>
CC: stable <stable@kernel.org> [.33+]
Signed-off-by: David S. Miller <davem@davemloft.net>

net/core/dev.c

index a18c164..8ae6631 100644 (file)
@@ -5066,6 +5066,7 @@ static void rollback_registered(struct net_device *dev)
 
        list_add(&dev->unreg_list, &single);
        rollback_registered_many(&single);
+       list_del(&single);
 }
 
 unsigned long netdev_fix_features(unsigned long features, const char *name)
@@ -6219,6 +6220,7 @@ static void __net_exit default_device_exit_batch(struct list_head *net_list)
                }
        }
        unregister_netdevice_many(&dev_kill_list);
+       list_del(&dev_kill_list);
        rtnl_unlock();
 }