mm: vmscan: fix misused nr_reclaimed in shrink_mem_cgroup_zone()
Hillf Danton [Wed, 21 Mar 2012 23:33:50 +0000 (16:33 -0700)]
The value of nr_reclaimed is the number of pages reclaimed in the current
round of the loop, whereas nr_to_reclaim should be compared with the
number of pages reclaimed in all rounds.

In each round of the loop, reclaimed pages are cut off from the reclaim
goal, and the loop stops once the goal achieved.

Signed-off-by: Hillf Danton <dhillf@gmail.com>
Cc: KOSAKI Motohiro <kosaki.motohiro@jp.fujitsu.com>
Cc: Mel Gorman <mgorman@suse.de>
Cc: Rik van Riel <riel@redhat.com>
Cc: Hugh Dickins <hughd@google.com>
Cc: Michal Hocko <mhocko@suse.cz>
Cc: KAMEZAWA Hiroyuki <kamezawa.hiroyu@jp.fujitsu.com>
Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>

mm/vmscan.c

index 61a6688..8dfa598 100644 (file)
@@ -2112,7 +2112,12 @@ restart:
                 * with multiple processes reclaiming pages, the total
                 * freeing target can get unreasonably large.
                 */
-               if (nr_reclaimed >= nr_to_reclaim && priority < DEF_PRIORITY)
+               if (nr_reclaimed >= nr_to_reclaim)
+                       nr_to_reclaim = 0;
+               else
+                       nr_to_reclaim -= nr_reclaimed;
+
+               if (!nr_to_reclaim && priority < DEF_PRIORITY)
                        break;
        }
        blk_finish_plug(&plug);