ACPI: processor: remove KOBJ_ONLINE/KOBJ_OFFLINE events
Bjorn Helgaas [Mon, 22 Jun 2009 20:41:04 +0000 (20:41 +0000)]
This patch removes the KOBJ_ONLINE/KOBJ_OFFLINE events the driver used
to generate for CPU hotplug.  As far as I know, nobody consumes these.
The driver core still generates KOBJ_ADD and KOBJ_REMOVE, of course.

Signed-off-by: Bjorn Helgaas <bjorn.helgaas@hp.com>
CC: Venkatesh Pallipadi <venkatesh.pallipadi@intel.com>
CC: Zhao Yakui <yakui.zhao@intel.com>
CC: Matthew Garrett <mjg@redhat.com>
CC: Thomas Renninger <trenn@suse.de>
CC: Dave Jones <davej@codemonkey.org.uk>
CC: Kay Sievers <kay.sievers@vrfy.org>
CC: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@suse.de>
Signed-off-by: Len Brown <len.brown@intel.com>

drivers/acpi/processor_core.c

index 84e0f3c..c6ec68d 100644 (file)
@@ -963,9 +963,6 @@ int acpi_processor_device_add(acpi_handle handle, struct acpi_device **device)
        if (!pr)
                return -ENODEV;
 
-       if ((pr->id >= 0) && (pr->id < nr_cpu_ids)) {
-               kobject_uevent(&(*device)->dev.kobj, KOBJ_ONLINE);
-       }
        return 0;
 }
 
@@ -1002,18 +999,10 @@ static void __ref acpi_processor_hotplug_notify(acpi_handle handle,
                        break;
                }
 
-               if (pr->id >= 0 && (pr->id < nr_cpu_ids)) {
-                       kobject_uevent(&device->dev.kobj, KOBJ_OFFLINE);
-                       break;
-               }
-
                result = acpi_processor_start(device);
-               if ((!result) && ((pr->id >= 0) && (pr->id < nr_cpu_ids))) {
-                       kobject_uevent(&device->dev.kobj, KOBJ_ONLINE);
-               } else {
+               if (result)
                        printk(KERN_ERR PREFIX "Device [%s] failed to start\n",
                                    acpi_device_bid(device));
-               }
                break;
        case ACPI_NOTIFY_EJECT_REQUEST:
                ACPI_DEBUG_PRINT((ACPI_DB_INFO,
@@ -1030,9 +1019,6 @@ static void __ref acpi_processor_hotplug_notify(acpi_handle handle,
                                    "Driver data is NULL, dropping EJECT\n");
                        return;
                }
-
-               if ((pr->id < nr_cpu_ids) && (cpu_present(pr->id)))
-                       kobject_uevent(&device->dev.kobj, KOBJ_OFFLINE);
                break;
        default:
                ACPI_DEBUG_PRINT((ACPI_DB_INFO,