sysctl: restrict write access to dmesg_restrict
Richard Weinberger [Wed, 23 Mar 2011 23:43:11 +0000 (16:43 -0700)]
When dmesg_restrict is set to 1 CAP_SYS_ADMIN is needed to read the kernel
ring buffer.  But a root user without CAP_SYS_ADMIN is able to reset
dmesg_restrict to 0.

This is an issue when e.g.  LXC (Linux Containers) are used and complete
user space is running without CAP_SYS_ADMIN.  A unprivileged and jailed
root user can bypass the dmesg_restrict protection.

With this patch writing to dmesg_restrict is only allowed when root has
CAP_SYS_ADMIN.

Signed-off-by: Richard Weinberger <richard@nod.at>
Acked-by: Dan Rosenberg <drosenberg@vsecurity.com>
Acked-by: Serge E. Hallyn <serge@hallyn.com>
Cc: Eric Paris <eparis@redhat.com>
Cc: Kees Cook <kees.cook@canonical.com>
Cc: James Morris <jmorris@namei.org>
Cc: Eugene Teo <eugeneteo@kernel.org>
Cc: <stable@kernel.org>
Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>

kernel/sysctl.c

index 97ab169..c0bb324 100644 (file)
@@ -170,6 +170,11 @@ static int proc_taint(struct ctl_table *table, int write,
                               void __user *buffer, size_t *lenp, loff_t *ppos);
 #endif
 
+#ifdef CONFIG_PRINTK
+static int proc_dmesg_restrict(struct ctl_table *table, int write,
+                               void __user *buffer, size_t *lenp, loff_t *ppos);
+#endif
+
 #ifdef CONFIG_MAGIC_SYSRQ
 /* Note: sysrq code uses it's own private copy */
 static int __sysrq_enabled = SYSRQ_DEFAULT_ENABLE;
@@ -707,7 +712,7 @@ static struct ctl_table kern_table[] = {
                .data           = &kptr_restrict,
                .maxlen         = sizeof(int),
                .mode           = 0644,
-               .proc_handler   = proc_dointvec_minmax,
+               .proc_handler   = proc_dmesg_restrict,
                .extra1         = &zero,
                .extra2         = &two,
        },
@@ -2394,6 +2399,17 @@ static int proc_taint(struct ctl_table *table, int write,
        return err;
 }
 
+#ifdef CONFIG_PRINTK
+static int proc_dmesg_restrict(struct ctl_table *table, int write,
+                               void __user *buffer, size_t *lenp, loff_t *ppos)
+{
+       if (write && !capable(CAP_SYS_ADMIN))
+               return -EPERM;
+
+       return proc_dointvec_minmax(table, write, buffer, lenp, ppos);
+}
+#endif
+
 struct do_proc_dointvec_minmax_conv_param {
        int *min;
        int *max;