Revert "vfs: Export file system uuid via /proc/<pid>/mountinfo"
Linus Torvalds [Tue, 12 Apr 2011 20:35:56 +0000 (13:35 -0700)]
This reverts commit 93f1c20bc8cdb757be50566eff88d65c3b26881f.

It turns out that libmount misparses it because it adds a '-' character
in the uuid string, which libmount then incorrectly confuses with the
separator string (" - ") at the end of all the optional arguments.

Upstream libmount (in the util-linux tree) has been fixed, but until
that fix actually percolates up to users, we'd better not expose this
change in the kernel.

Let's revisit this later (possibly by exposing the UUID without any '-'
characters in it, avoiding the user-space bug).

Reported-by: Dave Jones <davej@redhat.com>
Cc: Aneesh Kumar K.V <aneesh.kumar@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
Cc: Al Viro <viro@zeniv.linux.org.uk>
Cc: Karel Zak <kzak@redhat.com>
Cc: Ram Pai <linuxram@us.ibm.com>
Cc: Miklos Szeredi <mszeredi@suse.cz>
Cc: Eric Sandeen <sandeen@redhat.com>
Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>

fs/namespace.c
include/linux/fs.h

index 7dba2ed..d99bcf5 100644 (file)
@@ -1030,18 +1030,6 @@ const struct seq_operations mounts_op = {
        .show   = show_vfsmnt
 };
 
-static int uuid_is_nil(u8 *uuid)
-{
-       int i;
-       u8  *cp = (u8 *)uuid;
-
-       for (i = 0; i < 16; i++) {
-               if (*cp++)
-                       return 0;
-       }
-       return 1;
-}
-
 static int show_mountinfo(struct seq_file *m, void *v)
 {
        struct proc_mounts *p = m->private;
@@ -1085,10 +1073,6 @@ static int show_mountinfo(struct seq_file *m, void *v)
        if (IS_MNT_UNBINDABLE(mnt))
                seq_puts(m, " unbindable");
 
-       if (!uuid_is_nil(mnt->mnt_sb->s_uuid))
-               /* print the uuid */
-               seq_printf(m, " uuid:%pU", mnt->mnt_sb->s_uuid);
-
        /* Filesystem specific data */
        seq_puts(m, " - ");
        show_type(m, sb);
index dbd860a..5b14843 100644 (file)
@@ -1403,7 +1403,6 @@ struct super_block {
        wait_queue_head_t       s_wait_unfrozen;
 
        char s_id[32];                          /* Informational name */
-       u8 s_uuid[16];                          /* UUID */
 
        void                    *s_fs_info;     /* Filesystem private info */
        fmode_t                 s_mode;