pnp: add pnp_build_option() to the API
Rene Herman [Wed, 14 May 2008 23:05:34 +0000 (16:05 -0700)]
The subsequent AD181x quirk patch would like this as part of the API.
pnp_register_dependent_option() adds to the same dependent chain the quirk is
walking which is fairly unclean.  This enables a private option chain build
which it can then just add onto the end when done.

Signed-off-by: Rene Herman <rene.herman@gmail.com>
Tested-by: Uwe Bugla <uwe.bugla@gmx.de>
Acked-by: Uwe Bugla <uwe.bugla@gmx.de>
Acked-by: Bjorn Helgaas <bjorn.helgaas@hp.com>
Cc: Takashi Iwai <tiwai@suse.de>
Cc: Len Brown <len.brown@intel.com
Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>

drivers/pnp/base.h
drivers/pnp/resource.c

index 4fe7c58..886dac8 100644 (file)
@@ -19,6 +19,7 @@ void pnp_remove_card(struct pnp_card *card);
 int pnp_add_card_device(struct pnp_card *card, struct pnp_dev *dev);
 void pnp_remove_card_device(struct pnp_dev *dev);
 
+struct pnp_option *pnp_build_option(int priority);
 struct pnp_option *pnp_register_independent_option(struct pnp_dev *dev);
 struct pnp_option *pnp_register_dependent_option(struct pnp_dev *dev,
                                                 int priority);
index 2041620..390b500 100644 (file)
@@ -28,7 +28,7 @@ static int pnp_reserve_mem[16] = {[0 ... 15] = -1 };  /* reserve (don't use) some
  * option registration
  */
 
-static struct pnp_option *pnp_build_option(int priority)
+struct pnp_option *pnp_build_option(int priority)
 {
        struct pnp_option *option = pnp_alloc(sizeof(struct pnp_option));