perf probe: Check new event name
Masami Hiramatsu [Wed, 16 Dec 2009 22:24:15 +0000 (17:24 -0500)]
Check new event name is same syntax as a C symbol in perf command.
In other words, checking the name is as like as other tracepoint
events.

This can prevent user to create an event with useless name (e.g.
foo|bar, foo*bar).

Signed-off-by: Masami Hiramatsu <mhiramat@redhat.com>
Cc: Frederic Weisbecker <fweisbec@gmail.com>
Cc: Paul Mackerras <paulus@samba.org>
Cc: Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com>
Cc: Steven Rostedt <rostedt@goodmis.org>
Cc: Jim Keniston <jkenisto@us.ibm.com>
Cc: Ananth N Mavinakayanahalli <ananth@in.ibm.com>
Cc: Christoph Hellwig <hch@infradead.org>
Cc: Jason Baron <jbaron@redhat.com>
Cc: K.Prasad <prasad@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
Cc: Srikar Dronamraju <srikar@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
Cc: Frederic Weisbecker <fweisbec@gmail.com>
Cc: systemtap <systemtap@sources.redhat.com>
Cc: DLE <dle-develop@lists.sourceforge.net>
LKML-Reference: <20091216222415.14459.71383.stgit@dhcp-100-2-132.bos.redhat.com>
[ v2: minor cleanups ]
Signed-off-by: Ingo Molnar <mingo@elte.hu>

tools/perf/util/probe-event.c

index 2ca6215..29465d4 100644 (file)
@@ -62,6 +62,18 @@ static int e_snprintf(char *str, size_t size, const char *format, ...)
        return ret;
 }
 
+/* Check the name is good for event/group */
+static bool check_event_name(const char *name)
+{
+       if (!isalpha(*name) && *name != '_')
+               return false;
+       while (*++name != '\0') {
+               if (!isalpha(*name) && !isdigit(*name) && *name != '_')
+                       return false;
+       }
+       return true;
+}
+
 /* Parse probepoint definition. */
 static void parse_perf_probe_probepoint(char *arg, struct probe_point *pp)
 {
@@ -82,6 +94,9 @@ static void parse_perf_probe_probepoint(char *arg, struct probe_point *pp)
                ptr = strchr(arg, ':');
                if (ptr)        /* Group name is not supported yet. */
                        semantic_error("Group name is not supported yet.");
+               if (!check_event_name(arg))
+                       semantic_error("%s is bad for event name -it must "
+                                      "follow C symbol-naming rule.", arg);
                pp->event = strdup(arg);
                arg = tmp;
        }