page allocator: slab: use nr_online_nodes to check for a NUMA platform
Mel Gorman [Tue, 16 Jun 2009 22:32:16 +0000 (15:32 -0700)]
SLAB currently avoids checking a bitmap repeatedly by checking once and
storing a flag.  When the addition of nr_online_nodes as a cheaper version
of num_online_nodes(), this check can be replaced by nr_online_nodes.

(Christoph did a patch that this is lifted almost verbatim from)

Signed-off-by: Christoph Lameter <cl@linux.com>
Signed-off-by: Mel Gorman <mel@csn.ul.ie>
Cc: KOSAKI Motohiro <kosaki.motohiro@jp.fujitsu.com>
Reviewed-by: Pekka Enberg <penberg@cs.helsinki.fi>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <a.p.zijlstra@chello.nl>
Cc: Nick Piggin <nickpiggin@yahoo.com.au>
Cc: Dave Hansen <dave@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
Cc: Lee Schermerhorn <Lee.Schermerhorn@hp.com>
Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>

mm/slab.c

index bb3254c..744ab9a 100644 (file)
--- a/mm/slab.c
+++ b/mm/slab.c
@@ -898,7 +898,6 @@ static void __slab_error(const char *function, struct kmem_cache *cachep,
   */
 
 static int use_alien_caches __read_mostly = 1;
-static int numa_platform __read_mostly = 1;
 static int __init noaliencache_setup(char *s)
 {
        use_alien_caches = 0;
@@ -1457,10 +1456,8 @@ void __init kmem_cache_init(void)
        int order;
        int node;
 
-       if (num_possible_nodes() == 1) {
+       if (num_possible_nodes() == 1)
                use_alien_caches = 0;
-               numa_platform = 0;
-       }
 
        for (i = 0; i < NUM_INIT_LISTS; i++) {
                kmem_list3_init(&initkmem_list3[i]);
@@ -3590,7 +3587,7 @@ static inline void __cache_free(struct kmem_cache *cachep, void *objp)
         * variable to skip the call, which is mostly likely to be present in
         * the cache.
         */
-       if (numa_platform && cache_free_alien(cachep, objp))
+       if (nr_online_nodes > 1 && cache_free_alien(cachep, objp))
                return;
 
        if (likely(ac->avail < ac->limit)) {