mm: compaction: use synchronous compaction for /proc/sys/vm/compact_memory
Mel Gorman [Fri, 13 Jan 2012 01:19:26 +0000 (17:19 -0800)]
When asynchronous compaction was introduced, the
/proc/sys/vm/compact_memory handler should have been updated to always use
synchronous compaction.  This did not happen so this patch addresses it.

The assumption is if a user writes to /proc/sys/vm/compact_memory, they
are willing for that process to stall.

Signed-off-by: Mel Gorman <mgorman@suse.de>
Reviewed-by: Andrea Arcangeli <aarcange@redhat.com>
Reviewed-by: Rik van Riel <riel@redhat.com>
Reviewed-by: Minchan Kim <minchan.kim@gmail.com>
Cc: Dave Jones <davej@redhat.com>
Cc: Jan Kara <jack@suse.cz>
Cc: Andy Isaacson <adi@hexapodia.org>
Cc: Nai Xia <nai.xia@gmail.com>
Cc: Johannes Weiner <jweiner@redhat.com>
Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>

mm/compaction.c

index 396ea2b..d31e64b 100644 (file)
@@ -668,6 +668,7 @@ static int compact_node(int nid)
                        .nr_freepages = 0,
                        .nr_migratepages = 0,
                        .order = -1,
+                       .sync = true,
                };
 
                zone = &pgdat->node_zones[zoneid];