perf probe: Change probe-added message more user-friendly
Masami Hiramatsu [Tue, 8 Dec 2009 22:02:47 +0000 (17:02 -0500)]
Change probe-added message more user-friendly expression and
show usage of new events.

Before:
Added new event: p:probe/schedule_0 schedule+10 prev=%ax cpu=%bx

After:
Added new event:
  probe:schedule_1                         (on schedule+1 with prev cpu)

You can now use it on all perf tools, such as:

        perf record -e probe:schedule_1 -a sleep 1

Signed-off-by: Masami Hiramatsu <mhiramat@redhat.com>
Cc: Steven Rostedt <rostedt@goodmis.org>
Cc: Jim Keniston <jkenisto@us.ibm.com>
Cc: Ananth N Mavinakayanahalli <ananth@in.ibm.com>
Cc: Christoph Hellwig <hch@infradead.org>
Cc: Frank Ch. Eigler <fche@redhat.com>
Cc: Frederic Weisbecker <fweisbec@gmail.com>
Cc: Jason Baron <jbaron@redhat.com>
Cc: K.Prasad <prasad@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
Cc: Srikar Dronamraju <srikar@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
Cc: Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com>
Cc: systemtap <systemtap@sources.redhat.com>
Cc: DLE <dle-develop@lists.sourceforge.net>
LKML-Reference: <20091208220247.10142.91642.stgit@dhcp-100-2-132.bos.redhat.com>
Signed-off-by: Ingo Molnar <mingo@elte.hu>

tools/perf/util/probe-event.c

index a20e382..2c4d301 100644 (file)
@@ -453,17 +453,13 @@ static struct strlist *get_perf_event_names(int fd)
        return sl;
 }
 
-static int write_trace_kprobe_event(int fd, const char *buf)
+static void write_trace_kprobe_event(int fd, const char *buf)
 {
        int ret;
 
        ret = write(fd, buf, strlen(buf));
        if (ret <= 0)
                die("Failed to create event.");
-       else
-               printf("Added new event: %s\n", buf);
-
-       return ret;
 }
 
 static void get_new_event_name(char *buf, size_t len, const char *base,
@@ -503,10 +499,19 @@ void add_trace_kprobe_events(struct probe_point *probes, int nr_probes)
                                 PERFPROBE_GROUP, event,
                                 pp->probes[i]);
                        write_trace_kprobe_event(fd, buf);
+                       printf("Added new event:\n");
+                       /* Get the first parameter (probe-point) */
+                       sscanf(pp->probes[i], "%s", buf);
+                       show_perf_probe_event(PERFPROBE_GROUP, event,
+                                             buf, pp);
                        /* Add added event name to namelist */
                        strlist__add(namelist, event);
                }
        }
+       /* Show how to use the event. */
+       printf("\nYou can now use it on all perf tools, such as:\n\n");
+       printf("\tperf record -e %s:%s -a sleep 1\n\n", PERFPROBE_GROUP, event);
+
        strlist__delete(namelist);
        close(fd);
 }