s390: gup_huge_pmd() support THP tail recounting
Andrea Arcangeli [Wed, 2 Nov 2011 20:37:25 +0000 (13:37 -0700)]
commit 220a2eb228d032acde60e9fd044ca802706ff583 upstream.

Up to this point the code assumed old refcounting for hugepages (pre-thp).
This updates the code directly to the thp mapcount tail page refcounting.

Signed-off-by: Andrea Arcangeli <aarcange@redhat.com>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <a.p.zijlstra@chello.nl>
Cc: Hugh Dickins <hughd@google.com>
Cc: Johannes Weiner <jweiner@redhat.com>
Cc: Rik van Riel <riel@redhat.com>
Cc: Mel Gorman <mgorman@suse.de>
Cc: KOSAKI Motohiro <kosaki.motohiro@jp.fujitsu.com>
Cc: Benjamin Herrenschmidt <benh@kernel.crashing.org>
Cc: David Gibson <david@gibson.dropbear.id.au>
Cc: Martin Schwidefsky <schwidefsky@de.ibm.com>
Cc: Heiko Carstens <heiko.carstens@de.ibm.com>
Cc: David Miller <davem@davemloft.net>
Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@suse.de>

arch/s390/mm/gup.c

index 45b405c..668dda9 100644 (file)
@@ -48,11 +48,22 @@ static inline int gup_pte_range(pmd_t *pmdp, pmd_t pmd, unsigned long addr,
        return 1;
 }
 
+static inline void get_huge_page_tail(struct page *page)
+{
+       /*
+        * __split_huge_page_refcount() cannot run
+        * from under us.
+        */
+       VM_BUG_ON(page_mapcount(page) < 0);
+       VM_BUG_ON(atomic_read(&page->_count) != 0);
+       atomic_inc(&page->_mapcount);
+}
+
 static inline int gup_huge_pmd(pmd_t *pmdp, pmd_t pmd, unsigned long addr,
                unsigned long end, int write, struct page **pages, int *nr)
 {
        unsigned long mask, result;
-       struct page *head, *page;
+       struct page *head, *page, *tail;
        int refs;
 
        result = write ? 0 : _SEGMENT_ENTRY_RO;
@@ -64,6 +75,7 @@ static inline int gup_huge_pmd(pmd_t *pmdp, pmd_t pmd, unsigned long addr,
        refs = 0;
        head = pmd_page(pmd);
        page = head + ((addr & ~PMD_MASK) >> PAGE_SHIFT);
+       tail = page;
        do {
                VM_BUG_ON(compound_head(page) != head);
                pages[*nr] = page;
@@ -81,6 +93,16 @@ static inline int gup_huge_pmd(pmd_t *pmdp, pmd_t pmd, unsigned long addr,
                *nr -= refs;
                while (refs--)
                        put_page(head);
+       } else {
+               /*
+                * Any tail page need their mapcount reference taken
+                * before we return.
+                */
+               while (refs--) {
+                       if (PageTail(tail))
+                               get_huge_page_tail(tail);
+                       tail++;
+               }
        }
 
        return 1;