platform-drivers: move probe to .devinit.text in arch/arm
Uwe Kleine-König [Thu, 4 Feb 2010 19:56:49 +0000 (20:56 +0100)]
A pointer to a probe callback is passed to the core via
platform_driver_register and so the function must not disappear when the
.init sections are discarded.  Otherwise (if also having HOTPLUG=y)
unbinding and binding a device to the driver via sysfs will result in an
oops as does a device being registered late.

An alternative to this patch is using platform_driver_probe instead of
platform_driver_register plus removing the pointer to the probe function
from the struct platform_driver.

Signed-off-by: Uwe Kleine-König <u.kleine-koenig@pengutronix.de>
Cc: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Cc: Ben Dooks <ben-linux@fluff.org>
Cc: Dmitry Baryshkov <dbaryshkov@gmail.com>
Cc: Eric Miao <eric.miao@marvell.com>
Cc: Liam Girdwood <liam.girdwood@wolfsonmicro.com>
Cc: Paul Sokolovsky <pmiscml@gmail.com>
Cc: Richard Purdie <rpurdie@rpsys.net>
Cc: Russell King <rmk+kernel@arm.linux.org.uk>
Acked-by: Arnaud Patard <arnaud.patard@rtp-net.org>
Acked-by: Dmitry Eremin-Solenikov <dbaryshkov@gmail.com>
Acked-by: Kristoffer Ericson <kristoffer.ericson@gmail.com>
Signed-off-by: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@suse.de>

arch/arm/mach-pxa/corgi_ssp.c
arch/arm/mach-pxa/sharpsl_pm.c
arch/arm/mach-s3c2410/h1940-bluetooth.c
arch/arm/mach-sa1100/jornada720_ssp.c

index a5ee707..1d9bc11 100644 (file)
@@ -204,7 +204,7 @@ void __init corgi_ssp_set_machinfo(struct corgissp_machinfo *machinfo)
        ssp_machinfo = machinfo;
 }
 
-static int __init corgi_ssp_probe(struct platform_device *dev)
+static int __devinit corgi_ssp_probe(struct platform_device *dev)
 {
        int ret;
 
index 67229a1..463d874 100644 (file)
@@ -900,7 +900,7 @@ static struct platform_suspend_ops sharpsl_pm_ops = {
 };
 #endif
 
-static int __init sharpsl_pm_probe(struct platform_device *pdev)
+static int __devinit sharpsl_pm_probe(struct platform_device *pdev)
 {
        int ret;
 
index b7d1f8d..a3f3c7b 100644 (file)
@@ -56,7 +56,7 @@ static const struct rfkill_ops h1940bt_rfkill_ops = {
        .set_block = h1940bt_set_block,
 };
 
-static int __init h1940bt_probe(struct platform_device *pdev)
+static int __devinit h1940bt_probe(struct platform_device *pdev)
 {
        struct rfkill *rfk;
        int ret = 0;
index 506a5e5..9b6dee5 100644 (file)
@@ -130,7 +130,7 @@ void jornada_ssp_end(void)
 };
 EXPORT_SYMBOL(jornada_ssp_end);
 
-static int __init jornada_ssp_probe(struct platform_device *dev)
+static int __devinit jornada_ssp_probe(struct platform_device *dev)
 {
        int ret;