perf symbols: List symbols in a dso in ascending name order
Srikar Dronamraju [Wed, 25 Aug 2010 13:43:29 +0000 (18:43 +0530)]
Given a dso, list the symbols in ascending name order. Needed for
listing available symbols from perf probe.

Cc: Ananth N Mavinakayanahalli <ananth@in.ibm.com>
Cc: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Cc: Christoph Hellwig <hch@infradead.org>
Cc: "Frank Ch. Eigler" <fche@redhat.com>
Cc: Frederic Weisbecker <fweisbec@gmail.com>
Cc: Jim Keniston <jkenisto@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
Cc: Mark Wielaard <mjw@redhat.com>
Cc: Masami Hiramatsu <masami.hiramatsu.pt@hitachi.com>
Cc: Mathieu Desnoyers <mathieu.desnoyers@efficios.com>
Cc: Naren A Devaiah <naren.devaiah@in.ibm.com>
Cc: Oleg Nesterov <oleg@redhat.com>
Cc: "Paul E. McKenney" <paulmck@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
Cc: Randy Dunlap <rdunlap@xenotime.net>
Cc: Srikar Dronamraju <srikar@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
Cc: Steven Rostedt <rostedt@goodmis.org>
LKML-Reference: <20100825134329.5447.92261.sendpatchset@localhost6.localdomain6>
Signed-off-by: Srikar Dronamraju <srikar@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
Signed-off-by: Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com>

tools/perf/util/symbol.c
tools/perf/util/symbol.h

index 1a36773..a08e1cb 100644 (file)
@@ -388,6 +388,20 @@ size_t dso__fprintf_buildid(struct dso *self, FILE *fp)
        return fprintf(fp, "%s", sbuild_id);
 }
 
+size_t dso__fprintf_symbols_by_name(struct dso *self, enum map_type type, FILE *fp)
+{
+       size_t ret = 0;
+       struct rb_node *nd;
+       struct symbol_name_rb_node *pos;
+
+       for (nd = rb_first(&self->symbol_names[type]); nd; nd = rb_next(nd)) {
+               pos = rb_entry(nd, struct symbol_name_rb_node, rb_node);
+               fprintf(fp, "%s\n", pos->sym.name);
+       }
+
+       return ret;
+}
+
 size_t dso__fprintf(struct dso *self, enum map_type type, FILE *fp)
 {
        struct rb_node *nd;
index b7a8da4..0a2c460 100644 (file)
@@ -181,6 +181,7 @@ size_t machines__fprintf_dsos(struct rb_root *self, FILE *fp);
 size_t machines__fprintf_dsos_buildid(struct rb_root *self, FILE *fp, bool with_hits);
 
 size_t dso__fprintf_buildid(struct dso *self, FILE *fp);
+size_t dso__fprintf_symbols_by_name(struct dso *self, enum map_type type, FILE *fp);
 size_t dso__fprintf(struct dso *self, enum map_type type, FILE *fp);
 
 enum dso_origin {