powerpc: get_hugepte() don't put_page() the wrong page
Andrea Arcangeli [Wed, 2 Nov 2011 20:37:08 +0000 (13:37 -0700)]
commit 405e44f2e312dd5dd63e5a9f459bffcbcd4368ef upstream.

"page" may have changed to point to the next hugepage after the loop
completed, The references have been taken on the head page, so the
put_page must happen there too.

This is a longstanding issue pre-thp inclusion.

It's totally unclear how these page_cache_add_speculative and
pte_val(pte) != pte_val(*ptep) checks are necessary across all the
powerpc gup_fast code, when x86 doesn't need any of that: there's no way
the page can be freed with irq disabled so we're guaranteed the
atomic_inc will happen on a page with page_count > 0 (so not needing the
speculative check).

The pte check is also meaningless on x86: no need to rollback on x86 if
the pte changed, because the pte can still change a CPU tick after the
check succeeded and it won't be rolled back in that case.  The important
thing is we got a reference on a valid page that was mapped there a CPU
tick ago.  So not knowing the soft tlb refill code of ppc64 in great
detail I'm not removing the "speculative" page_count increase and the
pte checks across all the code, but unless there's a strong reason for
it they should be later cleaned up too.

If a pte can change from huge to non-huge (like it could happen with
THP) passing a pte_t *ptep to gup_hugepte() would also require to repeat
the is_hugepd in gup_hugepte(), but that shouldn't happen with hugetlbfs
only so I'm not altering that.

Signed-off-by: Andrea Arcangeli <aarcange@redhat.com>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <a.p.zijlstra@chello.nl>
Cc: Hugh Dickins <hughd@google.com>
Cc: Johannes Weiner <jweiner@redhat.com>
Cc: Rik van Riel <riel@redhat.com>
Cc: Mel Gorman <mgorman@suse.de>
Cc: KOSAKI Motohiro <kosaki.motohiro@jp.fujitsu.com>
Cc: Benjamin Herrenschmidt <benh@kernel.crashing.org>
Acked-by: David Gibson <david@gibson.dropbear.id.au>
Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@suse.de>

arch/powerpc/mm/hugetlbpage.c

index 0b9a5c1..b649c28 100644 (file)
@@ -429,7 +429,7 @@ static noinline int gup_hugepte(pte_t *ptep, unsigned long sz, unsigned long add
        if (unlikely(pte_val(pte) != pte_val(*ptep))) {
                /* Could be optimized better */
                while (*nr) {
-                       put_page(page);
+                       put_page(head);
                        (*nr)--;
                }
        }