locks: allow ->lock() to return FILE_LOCK_DEFERRED
Miklos Szeredi [Fri, 25 Jul 2008 08:48:58 +0000 (01:48 -0700)]
Allow filesystem's ->lock() method to call posix_lock_file() instead of
posix_lock_file_wait(), and return FILE_LOCK_DEFERRED.  This makes it
possible to implement a such a ->lock() function, that works with the lock
manager, which needs the call to be asynchronous.

Now the vfs_lock_file() helper can be used, so this is a cleanup as well.

Signed-off-by: Miklos Szeredi <mszeredi@suse.cz>
Cc: "J. Bruce Fields" <bfields@fieldses.org>
Cc: Trond Myklebust <trond.myklebust@fys.uio.no>
Cc: Matthew Wilcox <matthew@wil.cx>
Cc: David Teigland <teigland@redhat.com>
Cc: Christoph Hellwig <hch@lst.de>
Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>

fs/locks.c

index 6222e4b..0149030 100644 (file)
@@ -1747,21 +1747,16 @@ static int do_lock_file_wait(struct file *filp, unsigned int cmd,
        if (error)
                return error;
 
-       if (filp->f_op && filp->f_op->lock != NULL)
-               error = filp->f_op->lock(filp, cmd, fl);
-       else {
-               for (;;) {
-                       error = posix_lock_file(filp, fl, NULL);
-                       if (error != FILE_LOCK_DEFERRED)
-                               break;
-                       error = wait_event_interruptible(fl->fl_wait,
-                                                        !fl->fl_next);
-                       if (!error)
-                               continue;
-
-                       locks_delete_block(fl);
+       for (;;) {
+               error = vfs_lock_file(filp, cmd, fl, NULL);
+               if (error != FILE_LOCK_DEFERRED)
                        break;
-               }
+               error = wait_event_interruptible(fl->fl_wait, !fl->fl_next);
+               if (!error)
+                       continue;
+
+               locks_delete_block(fl);
+               break;
        }
 
        return error;