'sysctl_max_map_count' should be non-negative
Amerigo Wang [Tue, 15 Dec 2009 01:59:52 +0000 (17:59 -0800)]
Jan Engelhardt reported we have this problem:

setting max_map_count to a value large enough results in programs dying at
first try.  This is on 2.6.31.6:

15:59 borg:/proc/sys/vm # echo $[1<<31-1] >max_map_count
15:59 borg:/proc/sys/vm # cat max_map_count
1073741824
15:59 borg:/proc/sys/vm # echo $[1<<31] >max_map_count
15:59 borg:/proc/sys/vm # cat max_map_count
Killed

This is because we have a chance to make 'max_map_count' negative.  but
it's meaningless.  Make it only accept non-negative values.

Reported-by: Jan Engelhardt <jengelh@medozas.de>
Signed-off-by: WANG Cong <amwang@redhat.com>
Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@elte.hu>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <a.p.zijlstra@chello.nl>
Cc: James Morris <jmorris@namei.org>
Cc: Alexey Dobriyan <adobriyan@gmail.com>
Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>

kernel/sysctl.c

index 60fc931..45e4bef 100644 (file)
@@ -1131,7 +1131,8 @@ static struct ctl_table vm_table[] = {
                .data           = &sysctl_max_map_count,
                .maxlen         = sizeof(sysctl_max_map_count),
                .mode           = 0644,
-               .proc_handler   = proc_dointvec
+               .proc_handler   = proc_dointvec,
+               .extra1         = &zero,
        },
 #else
        {