cpusets: prevent PF_THREAD_BOUND tasks from attaching to non-root cpusets
David Rientjes [Thu, 2 Apr 2009 23:57:57 +0000 (16:57 -0700)]
Kthreads that have the PF_THREAD_BOUND bit set in their flags are bound to a
specific cpu.  Thus, their set of allowed cpus shall not change.

This patch prevents such threads from attaching to non-root cpusets.  They do
not have mempolicies that restrict them to a subset of system nodes and, since
their cpumask may never change, they cannot use any of the features of
cpusets.

The tasks will forever be a member of the root cpuset and will be returned
when listing the tasks attached to that cpuset.

Cc: Paul Menage <menage@google.com>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <a.p.zijlstra@chello.nl>
Cc: Dhaval Giani <dhaval@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
Signed-off-by: David Rientjes <rientjes@google.com>
Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@elte.hu>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <a.p.zijlstra@chello.nl>
Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>

kernel/cpuset.c

index 2b93b50..026facc 100644 (file)
@@ -1342,19 +1342,22 @@ static int cpuset_can_attach(struct cgroup_subsys *ss,
                             struct cgroup *cont, struct task_struct *tsk)
 {
        struct cpuset *cs = cgroup_cs(cont);
-       int ret = 0;
 
        if (cpumask_empty(cs->cpus_allowed) || nodes_empty(cs->mems_allowed))
                return -ENOSPC;
 
-       if (tsk->flags & PF_THREAD_BOUND) {
-               mutex_lock(&callback_mutex);
-               if (!cpumask_equal(&tsk->cpus_allowed, cs->cpus_allowed))
-                       ret = -EINVAL;
-               mutex_unlock(&callback_mutex);
-       }
+       /*
+        * Kthreads bound to specific cpus cannot be moved to a new cpuset; we
+        * cannot change their cpu affinity and isolating such threads by their
+        * set of allowed nodes is unnecessary.  Thus, cpusets are not
+        * applicable for such threads.  This prevents checking for success of
+        * set_cpus_allowed_ptr() on all attached tasks before cpus_allowed may
+        * be changed.
+        */
+       if (tsk->flags & PF_THREAD_BOUND)
+               return -EINVAL;
 
-       return ret < 0 ? ret : security_task_setscheduler(tsk, 0, NULL);
+       return security_task_setscheduler(tsk, 0, NULL);
 }
 
 static void cpuset_attach(struct cgroup_subsys *ss,