lib: rename pack_hex_byte() to hex_byte_pack()
Andy Shevchenko [Tue, 1 Nov 2011 00:12:41 +0000 (17:12 -0700)]
As suggested by Andrew Morton in [1] there is better to have most
significant part first in the function name.

[1] https://lkml.org/lkml/2011/9/20/22

There is no functional change.

Signed-off-by: Andy Shevchenko <andriy.shevchenko@linux.intel.com>
Cc: Jesper Nilsson <jesper.nilsson@axis.com>
Cc: David Howells <dhowells@redhat.com>
Cc: Koichi Yasutake <yasutake.koichi@jp.panasonic.com>
Cc: Jason Wessel <jason.wessel@windriver.com>
Cc: Mimi Zohar <zohar@us.ibm.com>
Cc: James Morris <jmorris@namei.org>
Cc: OGAWA Hirofumi <hirofumi@mail.parknet.co.jp>
Cc: "John W. Linville" <linville@tuxdriver.com>
Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>

include/linux/kernel.h
lib/vsprintf.c

index e40c950..4824f26 100644 (file)
@@ -372,13 +372,18 @@ extern const char hex_asc[];
 #define hex_asc_lo(x)  hex_asc[((x) & 0x0f)]
 #define hex_asc_hi(x)  hex_asc[((x) & 0xf0) >> 4]
 
-static inline char *pack_hex_byte(char *buf, u8 byte)
+static inline char *hex_byte_pack(char *buf, u8 byte)
 {
        *buf++ = hex_asc_hi(byte);
        *buf++ = hex_asc_lo(byte);
        return buf;
 }
 
+static inline char * __deprecated pack_hex_byte(char *buf, u8 byte)
+{
+       return hex_byte_pack(buf, byte);
+}
+
 extern int hex_to_bin(char ch);
 extern int __must_check hex2bin(u8 *dst, const char *src, size_t count);
 
index c1a3927..993599e 100644 (file)
@@ -547,7 +547,7 @@ char *mac_address_string(char *buf, char *end, u8 *addr,
        }
 
        for (i = 0; i < 6; i++) {
-               p = pack_hex_byte(p, addr[i]);
+               p = hex_byte_pack(p, addr[i]);
                if (fmt[0] == 'M' && i != 5)
                        *p++ = separator;
        }
@@ -667,13 +667,13 @@ char *ip6_compressed_string(char *p, const char *addr)
                lo = word & 0xff;
                if (hi) {
                        if (hi > 0x0f)
-                               p = pack_hex_byte(p, hi);
+                               p = hex_byte_pack(p, hi);
                        else
                                *p++ = hex_asc_lo(hi);
-                       p = pack_hex_byte(p, lo);
+                       p = hex_byte_pack(p, lo);
                }
                else if (lo > 0x0f)
-                       p = pack_hex_byte(p, lo);
+                       p = hex_byte_pack(p, lo);
                else
                        *p++ = hex_asc_lo(lo);
                needcolon = true;
@@ -695,8 +695,8 @@ char *ip6_string(char *p, const char *addr, const char *fmt)
        int i;
 
        for (i = 0; i < 8; i++) {
-               p = pack_hex_byte(p, *addr++);
-               p = pack_hex_byte(p, *addr++);
+               p = hex_byte_pack(p, *addr++);
+               p = hex_byte_pack(p, *addr++);
                if (fmt[0] == 'I' && i != 7)
                        *p++ = ':';
        }
@@ -754,7 +754,7 @@ char *uuid_string(char *buf, char *end, const u8 *addr,
        }
 
        for (i = 0; i < 16; i++) {
-               p = pack_hex_byte(p, addr[index[i]]);
+               p = hex_byte_pack(p, addr[index[i]]);
                switch (i) {
                case 3:
                case 5: