get_unmapped_area doesn't need hugetlbfs hacks anymore
Benjamin Herrenschmidt [Sun, 6 May 2007 21:50:14 +0000 (14:50 -0700)]
Remove the hugetlbfs specific hacks in toplevel get_unmapped_area() now that
all archs and hugetlbfs itself do the right thing for both cases.

Signed-off-by: Benjamin Herrenschmidt <benh@kernel.crashing.org>
Acked-by: William Irwin <bill.irwin@oracle.com>
Cc: Paul Mackerras <paulus@samba.org>
Cc: Richard Henderson <rth@twiddle.net>
Cc: Ivan Kokshaysky <ink@jurassic.park.msu.ru>
Cc: Russell King <rmk+kernel@arm.linux.org.uk>
Cc: David Howells <dhowells@redhat.com>
Cc: Andi Kleen <ak@suse.de>
Cc: "Luck, Tony" <tony.luck@intel.com>
Cc: Kyle McMartin <kyle@mcmartin.ca>
Cc: Grant Grundler <grundler@parisc-linux.org>
Cc: Matthew Wilcox <willy@debian.org>
Cc: "David S. Miller" <davem@davemloft.net>
Cc: Adam Litke <agl@us.ibm.com>
Cc: David Gibson <david@gibson.dropbear.id.au>
Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>

mm/mmap.c

index a6b7c79..52646d6 100644 (file)
--- a/mm/mmap.c
+++ b/mm/mmap.c
@@ -1382,22 +1382,6 @@ get_unmapped_area(struct file *file, unsigned long addr, unsigned long len,
        if (addr & ~PAGE_MASK)
                return -EINVAL;
 
-       if (file && is_file_hugepages(file))  {
-               /*
-                * Check if the given range is hugepage aligned, and
-                * can be made suitable for hugepages.
-                */
-               ret = prepare_hugepage_range(addr, len, pgoff);
-       } else {
-               /*
-                * Ensure that a normal request is not falling in a
-                * reserved hugepage range.  For some archs like IA-64,
-                * there is a separate region for hugepages.
-                */
-               ret = is_hugepage_only_range(current->mm, addr, len);
-       }
-       if (ret)
-               return -EINVAL;
        return addr;
 }