perf: Find_get_context: fix the per-cpu-counter check
Oleg Nesterov [Tue, 18 Jan 2011 16:10:08 +0000 (17:10 +0100)]
If task == NULL, find_get_context() should always check that cpu
is correct.

Afaics, the bug was introduced by 38a81da2 "perf events: Clean
up pid passing", but even before that commit "&& cpu != -1" was
not exactly right, -ESRCH from find_task_by_vpid() is not
accurate.

Signed-off-by: Oleg Nesterov <oleg@redhat.com>
Acked-by: Peter Zijlstra <a.p.zijlstra@chello.nl>
Cc: Alan Stern <stern@rowland.harvard.edu>
Cc: Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com>
Cc: Frederic Weisbecker <fweisbec@gmail.com>
Cc: Paul Mackerras <paulus@samba.org>
Cc: Prasad <prasad@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
Cc: Roland McGrath <roland@redhat.com>
Cc: gregkh@suse.de
Cc: stable@kernel.org
LKML-Reference: <20110118161008.GB693@redhat.com>
Signed-off-by: Ingo Molnar <mingo@elte.hu>

kernel/perf_event.c

index 76be4c7..a962b19 100644 (file)
@@ -2228,7 +2228,7 @@ find_get_context(struct pmu *pmu, struct task_struct *task, int cpu)
        unsigned long flags;
        int ctxn, err;
 
-       if (!task && cpu != -1) {
+       if (!task) {
                /* Must be root to operate on a CPU event: */
                if (perf_paranoid_cpu() && !capable(CAP_SYS_ADMIN))
                        return ERR_PTR(-EACCES);