ksm: prevent mremap move poisoning
Hugh Dickins [Tue, 22 Sep 2009 00:02:05 +0000 (17:02 -0700)]
KSM's scan allows for user pages to be COWed or unmapped at any time,
without requiring any notification.  But its stable tree does assume that
when it finds a KSM page where it placed a KSM page, then it is the same
KSM page that it placed there.

mremap move could break that assumption: if an area containing a KSM page
was unmapped, then an area containing a different KSM page was moved with
mremap into the place of the original, before KSM's scan came around to
notice.  That could then poison a node of the stable tree, so that memcmps
would "lie" and upset the ordering of the tree.

Probably noone will ever need mremap move on a VM_MERGEABLE area; except
that prohibiting it would make trouble for schemes in which we try making
everything VM_MERGEABLE e.g.  for testing: an mremap which normally works
would then fail mysteriously.

There's no need to go to any trouble, such as re-sorting KSM's list of
rmap_items to match the new layout: simply unmerge the area to COW all its
KSM pages before moving, but leave VM_MERGEABLE on so that they're
remerged later.

Signed-off-by: Hugh Dickins <hugh.dickins@tiscali.co.uk>
Signed-off-by: Chris Wright <chrisw@redhat.com>
Signed-off-by: Izik Eidus <ieidus@redhat.com>
Cc: Andrea Arcangeli <aarcange@redhat.com>
Cc: Rik van Riel <riel@redhat.com>
Cc: Wu Fengguang <fengguang.wu@intel.com>
Cc: Balbir Singh <balbir@in.ibm.com>
Cc: Hugh Dickins <hugh.dickins@tiscali.co.uk>
Cc: KAMEZAWA Hiroyuki <kamezawa.hiroyu@jp.fujitsu.com>
Cc: Lee Schermerhorn <lee.schermerhorn@hp.com>
Cc: Avi Kivity <avi@redhat.com>
Cc: Nick Piggin <nickpiggin@yahoo.com.au>
Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>

mm/mremap.c

index a39b7b9..93addde 100644 (file)
@@ -11,6 +11,7 @@
 #include <linux/hugetlb.h>
 #include <linux/slab.h>
 #include <linux/shm.h>
+#include <linux/ksm.h>
 #include <linux/mman.h>
 #include <linux/swap.h>
 #include <linux/capability.h>
@@ -182,6 +183,17 @@ static unsigned long move_vma(struct vm_area_struct *vma,
        if (mm->map_count >= sysctl_max_map_count - 3)
                return -ENOMEM;
 
+       /*
+        * Advise KSM to break any KSM pages in the area to be moved:
+        * it would be confusing if they were to turn up at the new
+        * location, where they happen to coincide with different KSM
+        * pages recently unmapped.  But leave vma->vm_flags as it was,
+        * so KSM can come around to merge on vma and new_vma afterwards.
+        */
+       if (ksm_madvise(vma, old_addr, old_addr + old_len,
+                                               MADV_UNMERGEABLE, &vm_flags))
+               return -ENOMEM;
+
        new_pgoff = vma->vm_pgoff + ((old_addr - vma->vm_start) >> PAGE_SHIFT);
        new_vma = copy_vma(&vma, new_addr, new_len, new_pgoff);
        if (!new_vma)