perf probe: Remove event suffix number _0
Masami Hiramatsu [Tue, 8 Dec 2009 22:03:02 +0000 (17:03 -0500)]
Remove event suffix number _0 if it is the first.
The first event has no suffix, and from the second,
each event has suffix number counted from _1. This
reduces typing cost :-).

Signed-off-by: Masami Hiramatsu <mhiramat@redhat.com>
Cc: Steven Rostedt <rostedt@goodmis.org>
Cc: Jim Keniston <jkenisto@us.ibm.com>
Cc: Ananth N Mavinakayanahalli <ananth@in.ibm.com>
Cc: Christoph Hellwig <hch@infradead.org>
Cc: Frank Ch. Eigler <fche@redhat.com>
Cc: Frederic Weisbecker <fweisbec@gmail.com>
Cc: Jason Baron <jbaron@redhat.com>
Cc: K.Prasad <prasad@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
Cc: Srikar Dronamraju <srikar@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
Cc: Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com>
Cc: systemtap <systemtap@sources.redhat.com>
Cc: DLE <dle-develop@lists.sourceforge.net>
LKML-Reference: <20091208220301.10142.50031.stgit@dhcp-100-2-132.bos.redhat.com>
Signed-off-by: Ingo Molnar <mingo@elte.hu>

tools/perf/util/probe-event.c

index 2c4d301..31beedc 100644 (file)
@@ -466,7 +466,16 @@ static void get_new_event_name(char *buf, size_t len, const char *base,
                               struct strlist *namelist)
 {
        int i, ret;
-       for (i = 0; i < MAX_EVENT_INDEX; i++) {
+
+       /* Try no suffix */
+       ret = e_snprintf(buf, len, "%s", base);
+       if (ret < 0)
+               die("snprintf() failed: %s", strerror(-ret));
+       if (!strlist__has_entry(namelist, buf))
+               return;
+
+       /* Try to add suffix */
+       for (i = 1; i < MAX_EVENT_INDEX; i++) {
                ret = e_snprintf(buf, len, "%s_%d", base, i);
                if (ret < 0)
                        die("snprintf() failed: %s", strerror(-ret));