x86: Remove the CPU cache size printk's
Dave Jones [Thu, 12 Nov 2009 23:15:43 +0000 (18:15 -0500)]
They aren't really useful, and they pollute the dmesg output a lot
(especially on machines with many cores).

Also the same information can be trivially found out from
userspace.

Reported-by: Mike Travis <travis@sgi.com>
Signed-off-by: Dave Jones <davej@redhat.com>
Acked-by: H. Peter Anvin <hpa@zytor.com>
Cc: Andi Kleen <ak@linux.intel.com>
Cc: Heiko Carstens <heiko.carstens@de.ibm.com>
Cc: Roland Dreier <rdreier@cisco.com>
Cc: Randy Dunlap <rdunlap@xenotime.net>
Cc: Tejun Heo <tj@kernel.org>
Cc: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@suse.de>
Cc: Yinghai Lu <yinghai@kernel.org>
Cc: David Rientjes <rientjes@google.com>
Cc: Steven Rostedt <rostedt@goodmis.org>
Cc: Rusty Russell <rusty@rustcorp.com.au>
Cc: Hidetoshi Seto <seto.hidetoshi@jp.fujitsu.com>
Cc: Jack Steiner <steiner@sgi.com>
Cc: Frederic Weisbecker <fweisbec@gmail.com>
LKML-Reference: <20091112231542.GA7129@redhat.com>
Signed-off-by: Ingo Molnar <mingo@elte.hu>

arch/x86/kernel/cpu/intel_cacheinfo.c

index 804c40e..0df4c2b 100644 (file)
@@ -488,22 +488,6 @@ unsigned int __cpuinit init_intel_cacheinfo(struct cpuinfo_x86 *c)
 #endif
        }
 
-       if (trace)
-               printk(KERN_INFO "CPU: Trace cache: %dK uops", trace);
-       else if (l1i)
-               printk(KERN_INFO "CPU: L1 I cache: %dK", l1i);
-
-       if (l1d)
-               printk(KERN_CONT ", L1 D cache: %dK\n", l1d);
-       else
-               printk(KERN_CONT "\n");
-
-       if (l2)
-               printk(KERN_INFO "CPU: L2 cache: %dK\n", l2);
-
-       if (l3)
-               printk(KERN_INFO "CPU: L3 cache: %dK\n", l3);
-
        c->x86_cache_size = l3 ? l3 : (l2 ? l2 : (l1i+l1d));
 
        return l2;