posix-cpu-timers: Reset expire cache when no timer is running
Stanislaw Gruszka [Thu, 11 Mar 2010 22:04:31 +0000 (14:04 -0800)]
When a process deletes cpu timer or a timer expires we do not clear
the expiration cache sig->cputimer_expires.

As a result the fastpath_timer_check() which prevents us to loop over
all threads in case no timer is active is not working and we run the
slow path needlessly on every tick.

Zero sig->cputimer_expires in stop_process_timers().

Signed-off-by: Stanislaw Gruszka <sgruszka@redhat.com>
Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@elte.hu>
Cc: Oleg Nesterov <oleg@redhat.com>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
Cc: Hidetoshi Seto <seto.hidetoshi@jp.fujitsu.com>
Cc: Spencer Candland <spencer@bluehost.com>
Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>

kernel/posix-cpu-timers.c

index 438ff45..edec25a 100644 (file)
@@ -1060,9 +1060,9 @@ static void check_thread_timers(struct task_struct *tsk,
        }
 }
 
-static void stop_process_timers(struct task_struct *tsk)
+static void stop_process_timers(struct signal_struct *sig)
 {
-       struct thread_group_cputimer *cputimer = &tsk->signal->cputimer;
+       struct thread_group_cputimer *cputimer = &sig->cputimer;
        unsigned long flags;
 
        if (!cputimer->running)
@@ -1071,6 +1071,10 @@ static void stop_process_timers(struct task_struct *tsk)
        spin_lock_irqsave(&cputimer->lock, flags);
        cputimer->running = 0;
        spin_unlock_irqrestore(&cputimer->lock, flags);
+
+       sig->cputime_expires.prof_exp = cputime_zero;
+       sig->cputime_expires.virt_exp = cputime_zero;
+       sig->cputime_expires.sched_exp = 0;
 }
 
 static u32 onecputick;
@@ -1131,7 +1135,7 @@ static void check_process_timers(struct task_struct *tsk,
            list_empty(&timers[CPUCLOCK_VIRT]) &&
            cputime_eq(sig->it[CPUCLOCK_VIRT].expires, cputime_zero) &&
            list_empty(&timers[CPUCLOCK_SCHED])) {
-               stop_process_timers(tsk);
+               stop_process_timers(sig);
                return;
        }