seq_file: add function to write binary data
Peter Oberparleiter [Wed, 17 Jun 2009 23:28:05 +0000 (16:28 -0700)]
seq_write() can be used to construct seq_files containing arbitrary data.
Required by the gcov-profiling interface to synthesize binary profiling
data files.

Signed-off-by: Peter Oberparleiter <oberpar@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
Cc: Andi Kleen <andi@firstfloor.org>
Cc: Huang Ying <ying.huang@intel.com>
Cc: Li Wei <W.Li@Sun.COM>
Cc: Michael Ellerman <michaele@au1.ibm.com>
Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@elte.hu>
Cc: Heiko Carstens <heicars2@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
Cc: Martin Schwidefsky <mschwid2@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
Cc: Rusty Russell <rusty@rustcorp.com.au>
Cc: WANG Cong <xiyou.wangcong@gmail.com>
Cc: Sam Ravnborg <sam@ravnborg.org>
Cc: Jeff Dike <jdike@addtoit.com>
Cc: Al Viro <viro@zeniv.linux.org.uk>
Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>

fs/seq_file.c
include/linux/seq_file.h

index 7f40f30..6c95927 100644 (file)
@@ -640,6 +640,26 @@ int seq_puts(struct seq_file *m, const char *s)
 }
 EXPORT_SYMBOL(seq_puts);
 
+/**
+ * seq_write - write arbitrary data to buffer
+ * @seq: seq_file identifying the buffer to which data should be written
+ * @data: data address
+ * @len: number of bytes
+ *
+ * Return 0 on success, non-zero otherwise.
+ */
+int seq_write(struct seq_file *seq, const void *data, size_t len)
+{
+       if (seq->count + len < seq->size) {
+               memcpy(seq->buf + seq->count, data, len);
+               seq->count += len;
+               return 0;
+       }
+       seq->count = seq->size;
+       return -1;
+}
+EXPORT_SYMBOL(seq_write);
+
 struct list_head *seq_list_start(struct list_head *head, loff_t pos)
 {
        struct list_head *lh;
index 004f3b3..0c6a86b 100644 (file)
@@ -43,6 +43,7 @@ int seq_release(struct inode *, struct file *);
 int seq_escape(struct seq_file *, const char *, const char *);
 int seq_putc(struct seq_file *m, char c);
 int seq_puts(struct seq_file *m, const char *s);
+int seq_write(struct seq_file *seq, const void *data, size_t len);
 
 int seq_printf(struct seq_file *, const char *, ...)
        __attribute__ ((format (printf,2,3)));