vesafb: use platform_driver_probe() instead of platform_driver_register()
authorJan Beulich <JBeulich@novell.com>
Tue, 6 Apr 2010 21:34:44 +0000 (14:34 -0700)
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Wed, 7 Apr 2010 15:38:02 +0000 (08:38 -0700)
commitfc95c6d9b4433525ed9484089b6e092f3516a92b
treefa98b2e6238c73a6ebdbb59b0fb8107dfc0369fe
parent530cd330dc3865e3107304a6e84fdc332aa72f7d
vesafb: use platform_driver_probe() instead of platform_driver_register()

Commit c2e13037e6794bd0d9de3f9ecabf5615f15c160b ("platform-drivers: move
probe to .devinit.text in drivers/video") introduced a huge amount of
section mismatch warnings in vesafb code.  Rather than converting all of
the annotations, do the obvious and revert the __init -> __devinit change,
and use the recommended (in that patch) alternative to calling
platform_driver_register(): vesafb depends on information obtained from by
kernel at boot time, cannot be a module, and no post-boot devices can ever
show up.

Signed-off-by: Jan Beulich <jbeulich@novell.com>
Cc: Greg KH <greg@kroah.com>
Acked-by: Uwe Kleine-K├Ânig <u.kleine-koenig@pengutronix.de>
Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
drivers/video/vesafb.c