Make firmware loading of R8169 optional
authorMursalin Akon <makon@nvidia.com>
Mon, 5 Aug 2013 21:59:38 +0000 (14:59 -0700)
committerMatthew Pedro <mapedro@nvidia.com>
Tue, 6 Aug 2013 16:14:13 +0000 (09:14 -0700)
commitfc90609debf45e79712caabb7668e6f32eb02b69
tree777c0c36439bc90aaea87338dee05d46bc237103
parentc75951a17ef41e0cc108f1ced0213bc2620f6534
Make firmware loading of R8169 optional

According to Realtek, the firmware provides
power optimizations. The driver works without
the firmware. Plus, there are scenarios where
the firmware is not available, which makes the
driver wait at request_firmware call (i.e.,
60 sec wait).

Bug 1236060
Bug 991551

Change-Id: Ifcaa4b2dd48c4111ded33cf2bade7dc1f6422821
Signed-off-by: Mursalin Akon <makon@nvidia.com>
Reviewed-on: http://git-master/r/258353
GVS: Gerrit_Virtual_Submit
Reviewed-by: Matthew Pedro <mapedro@nvidia.com>
drivers/net/Kconfig
drivers/net/r8169.c