virtio: An entropy device, as suggested by hpa.
authorRusty Russell <rusty@rustcorp.com.au>
Fri, 30 May 2008 20:09:44 +0000 (15:09 -0500)
committerRusty Russell <rusty@rustcorp.com.au>
Fri, 30 May 2008 05:09:44 +0000 (15:09 +1000)
commitf7f510ec195781c857ab76366a3e1c59e1caae42
treeab14c93c4559bd00fc347953dc787bfffba828a8
parent3ef536095446552823fc488fec1c5451aab1260d
virtio: An entropy device, as suggested by hpa.

Note that by itself, having a "hardware" random generator does very
little: you should probably run "rngd" in your guest to feed this into
the kernel entropy pool.

Included:
virtio_rng: dont use vmalloced addresses for virtio

If virtio_rng is build as a module, random_data is an address
in vmalloc space. As virtio expects guest real addresses, this
can cause any kind of funny behaviour, so lets allocate
random_data dynamically with kmalloc.

Signed-off-by: Christian Borntraeger <borntraeger@de.ibm.com>

Signed-off-by: Rusty Russell <rusty@rustcorp.com.au>
drivers/char/hw_random/Kconfig
drivers/char/hw_random/Makefile
drivers/char/hw_random/virtio-rng.c [new file with mode: 0644]
include/linux/virtio_rng.h [new file with mode: 0644]