Check fops_get() return value
authorLaurent Pinchart <laurent.pinchart@skynet.be>
Tue, 6 Jan 2009 22:40:40 +0000 (14:40 -0800)
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Tue, 6 Jan 2009 23:59:11 +0000 (15:59 -0800)
commitf41ced8f108cc80f16509b907cd7ac93944459bc
treee2428887e43f26f373523be3d9ded4427a2c331f
parentbdbeed75b288443ea14208eafaac3941f385f2ae
Check fops_get() return value

Several subsystem open handlers dereference the fops_get() return value
without checking it for nullness.  This opens a race condition between the
open handler and module unloading.

A module can be marked as being unloaded (MODULE_STATE_GOING) before its
exit function is called and gets the chance to unregister the driver.
During that window open handlers can still be called, and fops_get() will
fail in try_module_get() and return a NULL pointer.

This change checks the fops_get() return value and returns -ENODEV if NULL.

Reported-by: Alan Jenkins <alan-jenkins@tuffmail.co.uk>
Signed-off-by: Laurent Pinchart <laurent.pinchart@skynet.be>
Acked-by: Takashi Iwai <tiwai@suse.de>
Cc: Al Viro <viro@zeniv.linux.org.uk>
Cc: Dave Airlie <airlied@linux.ie>
Acked-by: Mauro Carvalho Chehab <mchehab@infradead.org>
Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
drivers/gpu/drm/drm_fops.c
drivers/media/dvb/dvb-core/dvbdev.c
sound/core/sound.c