thp: add tlb_remove_pmd_tlb_entry
authorShaohua Li <shaohua.li@intel.com>
Fri, 13 Jan 2012 01:19:16 +0000 (17:19 -0800)
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Fri, 13 Jan 2012 04:13:08 +0000 (20:13 -0800)
commitf21760b15dcd091e5afd38d0b97197b45f7ef2ea
tree84dd0f9016b46630d6b67e48ff0382b78a1bc519
parente5591307f0c1eb733d280a0b72473e01d7f88530
thp: add tlb_remove_pmd_tlb_entry

We have tlb_remove_tlb_entry to indicate a pte tlb flush entry should be
flushed, but not a corresponding API for pmd entry.  This isn't a
problem so far because THP is only for x86 currently and tlb_flush()
under x86 will flush entire TLB.  But this is confusion and could be
missed if thp is ported to other arch.

Also convert tlb->need_flush = 1 to a VM_BUG_ON(!tlb->need_flush) in
__tlb_remove_page() as suggested by Andrea Arcangeli.  The
__tlb_remove_page() function is supposed to be called after
tlb_remove_xxx_tlb_entry() and we can catch any misuse.

Signed-off-by: Shaohua Li <shaohua.li@intel.com>
Reviewed-by: Andrea Arcangeli <aarcange@redhat.com>
Cc: David Rientjes <rientjes@google.com>
Cc: Johannes Weiner <jweiner@redhat.com>
Cc: Minchan Kim <minchan.kim@gmail.com>
Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
include/asm-generic/tlb.h
include/linux/huge_mm.h
mm/huge_memory.c
mm/memory.c