kbuild: make: fix if_changed when command contains backslashes
authorSascha Hauer <s.hauer@pengutronix.de>
Fri, 5 Oct 2012 00:11:17 +0000 (17:11 -0700)
committerGreg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>
Fri, 12 Oct 2012 20:38:36 +0000 (05:38 +0900)
commitf15977883584e7b52832518c3fef115957d3203b
treeba1bf3db57ede8d2bb58217e1c5836954adadd1b
parent605843502b0573c0c865b13f770d971aadaf0c41
kbuild: make: fix if_changed when command contains backslashes

commit c353acba28fb3fa1fd05fd6b85a9fc7938330f9c upstream.

The call if_changed mechanism does not work when the command contains
backslashes.  This basically is an issue with lzo and bzip2 compressed
kernels.  The compressed binaries do not contain the uncompressed image
size, so these use size_append to append the size.  This results in
backslashes in the executed command.  With this if_changed always
detects a change in the command and rebuilds the compressed image even
if nothing has changed.

Fix this by escaping backslashes in make-cmd

Signed-off-by: Sascha Hauer <s.hauer@pengutronix.de>
Signed-off-by: Jan Luebbe <jlu@pengutronix.de>
Cc: Sam Ravnborg <sam@ravnborg.org>
Cc: Bernhard Walle <bernhard@bwalle.de>
Cc: Michal Marek <mmarek@suse.cz>
Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>
scripts/Kbuild.include