slub: fix check_bytes() for slub debugging
authorAkinobu Mita <akinobu.mita@gmail.com>
Sun, 7 Aug 2011 09:30:38 +0000 (18:30 +0900)
committerPekka Enberg <penberg@kernel.org>
Tue, 9 Aug 2011 13:37:48 +0000 (16:37 +0300)
commitef62fb32b7b21731e41aea3c1e08bcdb407c9eb9
treef508ace02d80e7b80791aff0ada407ae104de7e3
parent6fbabb20faed9c08f8b96de4182bd721cbd1cfcf
slub: fix check_bytes() for slub debugging

The check_bytes() function is used by slub debugging.  It returns a pointer
to the first unmatching byte for a character in the given memory area.

If the character for matching byte is greater than 0x80, check_bytes()
doesn't work.  Becuase 64-bit pattern is generated as below.

value64 = value | value << 8 | value << 16 | value << 24;
value64 = value64 | value64 << 32;

The integer promotions are performed and sign-extended as the type of value
is u8.  The upper 32 bits of value64 is 0xffffffff in the first line, and
the second line has no effect.

This fixes the 64-bit pattern generation.

Signed-off-by: Akinobu Mita <akinobu.mita@gmail.com>
Cc: Christoph Lameter <cl@linux-foundation.org>
Cc: Matt Mackall <mpm@selenic.com>
Reviewed-by: Marcin Slusarz <marcin.slusarz@gmail.com>
Acked-by: Eric Dumazet <eric.dumazet@gmail.com>
Signed-off-by: Pekka Enberg <penberg@kernel.org>
mm/slub.c