PM: Rework struct platform_suspend_ops
authorRafael J. Wysocki <rjw@sisk.pl>
Thu, 18 Oct 2007 10:04:41 +0000 (03:04 -0700)
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@woody.linux-foundation.org>
Thu, 18 Oct 2007 21:37:18 +0000 (14:37 -0700)
commite6c5eb9541f2197a3ffab90b1c7a3250a9b51bf6
treeac227415da22d4345f8e72a6a8e781757b6ce85a
parent26398a70ea35f153feb799fa850c71685667712b
PM: Rework struct platform_suspend_ops

There is no reason why the .prepare() and .finish() methods in 'struct
platform_suspend_ops' should take any arguments, since architectures don't use
these methods' argument in any practically meaningful way (ie.  either the
target system sleep state is conveyed to the platform by .set_target(), or
there is only one suspend state supported and it is indicated to the PM core
by .valid(), or .prepare() and .finish() aren't defined at all).  ┬áThere also
is no reason why .finish() should return any result.

Signed-off-by: Rafael J. Wysocki <rjw@sisk.pl>
Acked-by: Pavel Machek <pavel@ucw.cz>
Cc: Len Brown <lenb@kernel.org>
Cc: Greg KH <greg@kroah.com>
Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
arch/arm/mach-omap1/pm.c
arch/arm/mach-omap2/pm.c
arch/blackfin/mach-common/pm.c
arch/powerpc/platforms/52xx/lite5200_pm.c
arch/powerpc/platforms/52xx/mpc52xx_pm.c
drivers/acpi/sleep/main.c
include/asm-powerpc/mpc52xx.h
include/linux/suspend.h
kernel/power/main.c