slub: Disable NUMA remote node defragmentation by default
authorChristoph Lameter <cl@linux-foundation.org>
Tue, 19 Aug 2008 13:51:22 +0000 (08:51 -0500)
committerPekka Enberg <penberg@cs.helsinki.fi>
Wed, 20 Aug 2008 18:50:21 +0000 (21:50 +0300)
commite2cb96b7ecba46888cf00252ffdb8ef1e92c4258
tree98bb362ab0fc0eab37b206a3b8330354406bb357
parent30a2f3c60a84092c8084dfe788b710f8d0768cd4
slub: Disable NUMA remote node defragmentation by default

Switch remote node defragmentation off by default. The current settings can
cause excessive node local allocations with hackbench:

  SLAB:

    % cat /proc/meminfo
    MemTotal:        7701760 kB
    MemFree:         5940096 kB
    Slab:             123840 kB

  SLUB:

    % cat /proc/meminfo
    MemTotal:        7701376 kB
    MemFree:         4740928 kB
    Slab:            1591680 kB

[Note: this feature is not related to slab defragmentation.]

You can find the original discussion here:

  http://lkml.org/lkml/2008/8/4/308

Reported-by: KOSAKI Motohiro <kosaki.motohiro@jp.fujitsu.com>
Tested-by: KOSAKI Motohiro <kosaki.motohiro@jp.fujitsu.com>
Signed-off-by: Christoph Lameter <cl@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: Pekka Enberg <penberg@cs.helsinki.fi>
mm/slub.c