mm: speculative page references
authorNick Piggin <npiggin@suse.de>
Sat, 26 Jul 2008 02:45:30 +0000 (19:45 -0700)
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Sat, 26 Jul 2008 19:00:06 +0000 (12:00 -0700)
commite286781d5f2e9c846e012a39653a166e9d31777d
tree14958fe6d8f3e0459c96c68b3034ea2433ab85ac
parent47feff2c8eefe85099f87c43d3096855f0085ca0
mm: speculative page references

If we can be sure that elevating the page_count on a pagecache page will
pin it, we can speculatively run this operation, and subsequently check to
see if we hit the right page rather than relying on holding a lock or
otherwise pinning a reference to the page.

This can be done if get_page/put_page behaves consistently throughout the
whole tree (ie.  if we "get" the page after it has been used for something
else, we must be able to free it with a put_page).

Actually, there is a period where the count behaves differently: when the
page is free or if it is a constituent page of a compound page.  We need
an atomic_inc_not_zero operation to ensure we don't try to grab the page
in either case.

This patch introduces the core locking protocol to the pagecache (ie.
adds page_cache_get_speculative, and tweaks some update-side code to make
it work).

Thanks to Hugh for pointing out an improvement to the algorithm setting
page_count to zero when we have control of all references, in order to
hold off speculative getters.

[kamezawa.hiroyu@jp.fujitsu.com: fix migration_entry_wait()]
[hugh@veritas.com: fix add_to_page_cache]
[akpm@linux-foundation.org: repair a comment]
Signed-off-by: Nick Piggin <npiggin@suse.de>
Cc: Jeff Garzik <jeff@garzik.org>
Cc: Benjamin Herrenschmidt <benh@kernel.crashing.org>
Cc: Paul Mackerras <paulus@samba.org>
Cc: Hugh Dickins <hugh@veritas.com>
Cc: "Paul E. McKenney" <paulmck@us.ibm.com>
Reviewed-by: Peter Zijlstra <a.p.zijlstra@chello.nl>
Signed-off-by: Daisuke Nishimura <nishimura@mxp.nes.nec.co.jp>
Signed-off-by: KAMEZAWA Hiroyuki <kamezawa.hiroyu@jp.fujitsu.com>
Signed-off-by: KOSAKI Motohiro <kosaki.motohiro@jp.fujitsu.com>
Signed-off-by: Hugh Dickins <hugh@veritas.com>
Acked-by: Nick Piggin <npiggin@suse.de>
Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
drivers/net/cassini.c
include/linux/pagemap.h
mm/filemap.c
mm/migrate.c
mm/shmem.c
mm/swap_state.c
mm/vmscan.c