[media] v4l: add videobuf2 Video for Linux 2 driver framework
authorPawel Osciak <p.osciak@samsung.com>
Mon, 11 Oct 2010 13:56:41 +0000 (10:56 -0300)
committerMauro Carvalho Chehab <mchehab@redhat.com>
Mon, 21 Mar 2011 23:31:34 +0000 (20:31 -0300)
commite23ccc0ad9258634e6d52cedf473b35dc34416c7
tree1fafec2a8c5d9258be169410b2fa8d8614b33d1e
parent52a3082fea41ffe77003be76ac1496d60bb7908e
[media] v4l: add videobuf2 Video for Linux 2 driver framework

Videobuf2 is a Video for Linux 2 API-compatible driver framework for
multimedia devices. It acts as an intermediate layer between userspace
applications and device drivers. It also provides low-level, modular
memory management functions for drivers.

Videobuf2 eases driver development, reduces drivers' code size and aids in
proper and consistent implementation of V4L2 API in drivers.

Videobuf2 memory management backend is fully modular. This allows custom
memory management routines for devices and platforms with non-standard
memory management requirements to be plugged in, without changing the
high-level buffer management functions and API.

The framework provides:
- implementations of streaming I/O V4L2 ioctls and file operations
- high-level video buffer, video queue and state management functions
- video buffer memory allocation and management

Signed-off-by: Pawel Osciak <p.osciak@samsung.com>
Signed-off-by: Marek Szyprowski <m.szyprowski@samsung.com>
Signed-off-by: Kyungmin Park <kyungmin.park@samsung.com>
CC: Pawel Osciak <pawel@osciak.com>
Reviewed-by: Hans Verkuil <hverkuil@xs4all.nl>
Signed-off-by: Mauro Carvalho Chehab <mchehab@redhat.com>
drivers/media/video/Kconfig
drivers/media/video/Makefile
drivers/media/video/videobuf2-core.c [new file with mode: 0644]
include/media/videobuf2-core.h [new file with mode: 0644]