watchdog, hung_task_timeout: Add Kconfig configurable default
authorJeff Mahoney <jeffm@suse.com>
Wed, 27 Apr 2011 18:27:24 +0000 (14:27 -0400)
committerIngo Molnar <mingo@elte.hu>
Thu, 28 Apr 2011 07:13:17 +0000 (09:13 +0200)
commite11feaa1192a079ba8e88a12121e9b12d55d4239
tree41d7c546af7663132a12951f4ba9392942cde5db
parente0944ee63f7249802be74454cef81c97630ae1cd
watchdog, hung_task_timeout: Add Kconfig configurable default

This patch allows the default value for sysctl_hung_task_timeout_secs
to be set at build time. The feature carries virtually no overhead,
so it makes sense to keep it enabled. On heavily loaded systems, though,
it can end up triggering stack traces when there is no bug other than
the system being underprovisioned. We use this patch to keep the hung task
facility available but disabled at boot-time.

The default of 120 seconds is preserved. As a note, commit e162b39a may
have accidentally reverted commit fb822db4, which raised the default from
120 seconds to 480 seconds.

Signed-off-by: Jeff Mahoney <jeffm@suse.com>
Acked-by: Mandeep Singh Baines <msb@google.com>
Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/4DB8600C.8080000@suse.com
Signed-off-by: Ingo Molnar <mingo@elte.hu>
kernel/hung_task.c
lib/Kconfig.debug