tracing, page-allocator: add trace events for anti-fragmentation falling back to...
authorMel Gorman <mel@csn.ul.ie>
Tue, 22 Sep 2009 00:02:42 +0000 (17:02 -0700)
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Tue, 22 Sep 2009 14:17:34 +0000 (07:17 -0700)
commite0fff1bd12469c45dab088e353d8882761387bb6
treedc120a7597bbd4f3841f951346dbe1f7b85dd3fb
parent4b4f278c030aa4b6ee0915f396e9a9478d92d610
tracing, page-allocator: add trace events for anti-fragmentation falling back to other migratetypes

Fragmentation avoidance depends on being able to use free pages from lists
of the appropriate migrate type.  In the event this is not possible,
__rmqueue_fallback() selects a different list and in some circumstances
change the migratetype of the pageblock.  Simplistically, the more times
this event occurs, the more likely that fragmentation will be a problem
later for hugepage allocation at least but there are other considerations
such as the order of page being split to satisfy the allocation.

This patch adds a trace event for __rmqueue_fallback() that reports what
page is being used for the fallback, the orders of relevant pages, the
desired migratetype and the migratetype of the lists being used, whether
the pageblock changed type and whether this event is important with
respect to fragmentation avoidance or not.  This information can be used
to help analyse fragmentation avoidance and help decide whether
min_free_kbytes should be increased or not.

Signed-off-by: Mel Gorman <mel@csn.ul.ie>
Acked-by: Rik van Riel <riel@redhat.com>
Reviewed-by: Ingo Molnar <mingo@elte.hu>
Cc: Larry Woodman <lwoodman@redhat.com>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
Cc: Li Ming Chun <macli@brc.ubc.ca>
Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
include/trace/events/kmem.h
mm/page_alloc.c