EHCI: fix direction handling for interrupt data toggles
authorAlan Stern <stern@rowland.harvard.edu>
Tue, 19 Jul 2011 18:01:23 +0000 (14:01 -0400)
committerGreg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@suse.de>
Tue, 19 Jul 2011 18:25:45 +0000 (11:25 -0700)
commite04f5f7e423018bcec84c11af2058cdce87816f3
treea11ccaa195e169c8dd2aa14d2a71ac5049d6c96e
parent026dfaf18973404a01f488d6aa556a8c466e06a4
EHCI: fix direction handling for interrupt data toggles

This patch (as1480) fixes a rather obscure bug in ehci-hcd.  The
qh_update() routine needs to know the number and direction of the
endpoint corresponding to its QH argument.  The number can be taken
directly from the QH data structure, but the direction isn't stored
there.  The direction is taken instead from the first qTD linked to
the QH.

However, it turns out that for interrupt transfers, qh_update() gets
called before the qTDs are linked to the QH.  As a result, qh_update()
computes a bogus direction value, which messes up the endpoint toggle
handling.  Under the right combination of circumstances this causes
usb_reset_endpoint() not to work correctly, which causes packets to be
dropped and communications to fail.

Now, it's silly for the QH structure not to have direct access to all
the descriptor information for the corresponding endpoint.  Ultimately
it may get a pointer to the usb_host_endpoint structure; for now,
adding a copy of the direction flag solves the immediate problem.

This allows the Spyder2 color-calibration system (a low-speed USB
device that sends all its interrupt data packets with the toggle set
to 0 and hance requires constant use of usb_reset_endpoint) to work
when connected through a high-speed hub.  Thanks to Graeme Gill for
supplying the hardware that allowed me to track down this bug.

Signed-off-by: Alan Stern <stern@rowland.harvard.edu>
Reported-by: Graeme Gill <graeme@argyllcms.com>
CC: <stable@kernel.org>
Signed-off-by: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@suse.de>
drivers/usb/host/ehci-q.c
drivers/usb/host/ehci.h