V4L/DVB (11967): v4l: i2c modules must be linked before the v4l2 drivers
authorHans Verkuil <hverkuil@xs4all.nl>
Fri, 12 Jun 2009 06:38:15 +0000 (03:38 -0300)
committerMauro Carvalho Chehab <mchehab@redhat.com>
Tue, 16 Jun 2009 22:07:41 +0000 (19:07 -0300)
commitdf59f0b3df3cc35fa03ea395f5106d1625e3726a
tree7b622e5b46cc62c938351206d0c228c7708d8b52
parent163fe744c3283fd267268629afff4cfc846ed0e0
V4L/DVB (11967): v4l: i2c modules must be linked before the v4l2 drivers

Since i2c autoprobing is no longer supported by v4l2 we need to make sure
that the i2c modules are linked before the v4l2 modules. The v4l2 modules
now rely on the presence of the i2c modules, so these must have initialized
themselves before the v4l2 modules.

The exception is the ir-kbd-i2c module, which is the only one still using
autoprobing. This one should be loaded at the end of the v4l2 module. Loading
it earlier actually causes problems with tveeprom. Once ir-kbd-i2c is no
longer autoprobing, then it has to move up as well.

This is only an issue when everything is compiled into the kernel.

Thanks to Marcus Swoboda for reporting this and Udo Steinberg for testing
this patch.

Tested-by: Udo A. Steinberg <udo@hypervisor.org>
Signed-off-by: Hans Verkuil <hverkuil@xs4all.nl>
Signed-off-by: Mauro Carvalho Chehab <mchehab@redhat.com>
drivers/media/video/Makefile
drivers/media/video/saa7134/Makefile