export_report: do collectcfiles work in perl itself
authorJim Cromie <jim.cromie@gmail.com>
Mon, 23 May 2011 18:44:55 +0000 (12:44 -0600)
committerMichal Marek <mmarek@suse.cz>
Tue, 24 May 2011 14:07:07 +0000 (16:07 +0200)
commitde7b0b4110795be914e6cafdfec4276b2618cc78
tree7800d8bc7778229004a95e1599a334095d8c4d43
parent2ee2d29289951b4cb7578d75f199e4aa4084fe6f
export_report: do collectcfiles work in perl itself

Avoid spawning a shell pipeline doing cat, grep, sed, and do it all
inside perl.  The <*.c> globbing construct works at least as far back
as 5.8.9

Note that this is not just an optimization; the sed command
in the pipeline was unterminated, due to lack of escape on the
end-of-line (\$) in the regex, resulting in this:

    $ perl ../linux-2.6/scripts/export_report.pl  > /dev/null
    sed: -e expression #1, char 5: unterminated `s' command
    sh: .mod.c/: not found

Comments on an earlier patch sought an all-perl implementation.

Signed-off-by: Jim Cromie <jim.cromie@gmail.com>
cc: Michal Marek <mmarek@suse.cz>,
cc: linux-kbuild@vger.kernel.org
cc: Arnaud Lacombe lacombar@gmail.com
cc: Stephen Hemminger shemminger@vyatta.com
Signed-off-by: Michal Marek <mmarek@suse.cz>
scripts/export_report.pl