PM / Hibernate: Add sysfs knob to control size of memory for drivers
authorRafael J. Wysocki <rjw@sisk.pl>
Sun, 15 May 2011 09:38:48 +0000 (11:38 +0200)
committerRafael J. Wysocki <rjw@sisk.pl>
Tue, 17 May 2011 21:19:19 +0000 (23:19 +0200)
commitddeb648708108091a641adad0a438ec4fd8bf190
tree722367ce903d362af29898db7c2bc2c1058d80c5
parent13e381365614855bf14c8ad68f9b65e3afd3dd2c
PM / Hibernate: Add sysfs knob to control size of memory for drivers

Martin reports that on his system hibernation occasionally fails due
to the lack of memory, because the radeon driver apparently allocates
too much of it during the device freeze stage.  It turns out that the
amount of memory allocated by radeon during hibernation (and
presumably during system suspend too) depends on the utilization of
the GPU (e.g. hibernating while there are two KDE 4 sessions with
compositing enabled causes radeon to allocate more memory than for
one KDE 4 session).

In principle it should be possible to use image_size to make the
memory preallocation mechanism free enough memory for the radeon
driver, but in practice it is not easy to guess the right value
because of the way the preallocation code uses image_size.  For this
reason, it seems reasonable to allow users to control the amount of
memory reserved for driver allocations made after the hibernate
preallocation, which currently is constant and amounts to 1 MB.

Introduce a new sysfs file, /sys/power/reserved_size, whose value
will be used as the amount of memory to reserve for the
post-preallocation reservations made by device drivers, in bytes.
For backwards compatibility, set its default (and initial) value to
the currently used number (1 MB).

References: https://bugzilla.kernel.org/show_bug.cgi?id=34102
Reported-and-tested-by: Martin Steigerwald <Martin@Lichtvoll.de>
Signed-off-by: Rafael J. Wysocki <rjw@sisk.pl>
Documentation/ABI/testing/sysfs-power
kernel/power/hibernate.c
kernel/power/main.c
kernel/power/power.h
kernel/power/snapshot.c