EHCI: workaround for MosChip controller bug
authorAlan Stern <stern@rowland.harvard.edu>
Wed, 12 Oct 2011 14:39:14 +0000 (10:39 -0400)
committerGreg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@suse.de>
Fri, 11 Nov 2011 17:42:20 +0000 (09:42 -0800)
commitdc7623dab0940ea39408cb033a16b5f092c985a7
treeb6590a8497374698cfa7698517654ed539268ce4
parentad758ade42246e5339491d6b902964cc4b7d40cd
EHCI: workaround for MosChip controller bug

commit 68aa95d5d4de31c9348c1628ffa85c805305ebc5 upstream.

This patch (as1489) works around a hardware bug in MosChip EHCI
controllers.  Evidently when one of these controllers increments the
frame-index register, it changes the three low-order bits (the
microframe counter) before changing the higher order bits (the frame
counter).  If the register is read at just the wrong time, the value
obtained is too low by 8.

When the appropriate quirk flag is set, we work around this problem by
reading the frame-index register a second time if the first value's
three low-order bits are all 0.  This gives the hardware a chance to
finish updating the register, yielding the correct value.

Signed-off-by: Alan Stern <stern@rowland.harvard.edu>
Tested-by: Jason N Pitt <jpitt@fhcrc.org>
Signed-off-by: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@suse.de>
drivers/usb/host/ehci-dbg.c
drivers/usb/host/ehci-hcd.c
drivers/usb/host/ehci-pci.c
drivers/usb/host/ehci-sched.c
drivers/usb/host/ehci.h