[PATCH] clean up and remove some extra spinlocks from rtmutex
authorSteven Rostedt <rostedt@goodmis.org>
Fri, 29 Sep 2006 08:59:44 +0000 (01:59 -0700)
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@g5.osdl.org>
Fri, 29 Sep 2006 16:18:09 +0000 (09:18 -0700)
commitdb630637b2f192bea2ba1c000e9cbe4e542a03ea
tree87866cf839510cc2e434730bc1f33fe4264f25a1
parentc24c95a085c6b52c11c2f5afecc38b0ca143cdae
[PATCH] clean up and remove some extra spinlocks from rtmutex

Oleg brought up some interesting points about grabbing the pi_lock for some
protections.  In this discussion, I realized that there are some places
that the pi_lock is being grabbed when it really wasn't necessary.  Also
this patch does a little bit of clean up.

This patch basically does three things:

1) renames the "boost" variable to "chain_walk".  Since it is used in
   the debugging case when it isn't going to be boosted.  It better
   describes what the test is going to do if it succeeds.

2) moves get_task_struct to just before the unlocking of the wait_lock.
   This removes duplicate code, and makes it a little easier to read.  The
   owner wont go away while either the pi_lock or the wait_lock are held.

3) removes the pi_locking and owner blocked checking completely from the
   debugging case.  This is because the grabbing the lock and doing the
   check, then releasing the lock is just so full of races.  It's just as
   good to go ahead and call the pi_chain_walk function, since after
   releasing the lock the owner can then block anyway, and we would have
   missed that.  For the debug case, we really do want to do the chain walk
   to test for deadlocks anyway.

[oleg@tv-sign.ru: more of the same]
Signed-of-by: Steven Rostedt <rostedt@goodmis.org>
Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@elte.hu>
Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
Cc: Oleg Nesterov <oleg@tv-sign.ru>
Cc: Esben Nielsen <nielsen.esben@googlemail.com>
Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@osdl.org>
Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@osdl.org>
kernel/rtmutex.c