drm/i915: do not default to 18 bpp for eDP if missing from VBT
authorJani Nikula <jani.nikula@intel.com>
Mon, 12 Nov 2012 12:33:45 +0000 (14:33 +0200)
committerGreg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>
Mon, 17 Dec 2012 18:37:44 +0000 (10:37 -0800)
commitd7ba8dff3e8afc83efe19c52ac7bd9ee2b65720b
treeb6730d79c8eac3838a74c900228abd1c42ab1018
parent11b73096b67cde81ba05125cecb06fe9884e4cb7
drm/i915: do not default to 18 bpp for eDP if missing from VBT

commit 9a30a61f3516871c5c638fd7c025fbaa11ddf7fe upstream.

commit 500a8cc466a24e2fbc4c86ef9c6467ae2ffdeb0c
Author: Zhenyu Wang <zhenyuw@linux.intel.com>
Date:   Wed Jan 13 11:19:52 2010 +0800

    drm/i915: parse eDP panel color depth from VBT block

originally introduced parsing bpp for eDP from VBT, with a default of 18
bpp if the eDP BIOS data block is not present. Turns out that default seems
to break the Macbook Pro with retina display, as noted in

commit 4344b813f105a19f793f1fd93ad775b784648b95
Author: Daniel Vetter <daniel.vetter@ffwll.ch>
Date:   Fri Aug 10 11:10:20 2012 +0200

    drm/i915: ignore eDP bpc settings from vbt

Since we can't ignore bpc settings from VBT completely after all, get rid
of the default. Do not clamp eDP to 18 bpp by default if the eDP BDB is
missing from VBT.

Signed-off-by: Jani Nikula <jani.nikula@intel.com>
Tested-by: Henrik Rydberg <rydberg@euromail.se>
[danvet: paste in the updated commit message from irc.]
Signed-off-by: Daniel Vetter <daniel.vetter@ffwll.ch>
Signed-off-by: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>
drivers/gpu/drm/i915/intel_bios.c
drivers/gpu/drm/i915/intel_display.c