Revert "rtc: Disable the alarm in the hardware"
authorLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Wed, 4 Jan 2012 01:32:13 +0000 (17:32 -0800)
committerRohan Somvanshi <rsomvanshi@nvidia.com>
Wed, 11 Jan 2012 18:34:55 +0000 (10:34 -0800)
commitd5f88867fa396d6ee93083778180fdc4f10bb496
tree8b08764c5014d274c966b0a17714bac7348fa5cf
parentdde30940487f409c960ac80804ac5b76b433d252
Revert "rtc: Disable the alarm in the hardware"

commit 157e8bf8b4823bfcdefa6c1548002374b61f61df upstream.

This reverts commit c0afabd3d553c521e003779c127143ffde55a16f.

It causes failures on Toshiba laptops - instead of disabling the alarm,
it actually seems to enable it on the affected laptops, resulting in
(for example) the laptop powering on automatically five minutes after
shutdown.

There's a patch for it that appears to work for at least some people,
but it's too late to play around with this, so revert for now and try
again in the next merge window.

See for example

http://bugs.debian.org/652869

Reported-and-bisected-by: Andreas Friedrich <afrie@gmx.net> (Toshiba Tecra)
Reported-by: Antonio-M. Corbi Bellot <antonio.corbi@ua.es> (Toshiba Portege R500)
Reported-by: Marco Santos <marco.santos@waynext.com> (Toshiba Portege Z830)
Reported-by: Christophe Vu-Brugier <cvubrugier@yahoo.fr>  (Toshiba Portege R830)
Cc: Jonathan Nieder <jrnieder@gmail.com>
Requested-by: John Stultz <john.stultz@linaro.org>
Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@suse.de>

Change-Id: If63f475a7edbe389ceb01cd430efb2d2a127eb6e
Reviewed-on: http://git-master/r/74231
Reviewed-by: Varun Wadekar <vwadekar@nvidia.com>
Tested-by: Varun Wadekar <vwadekar@nvidia.com>
drivers/rtc/interface.c